AAS 198th Meeting, June 2001
[Previous Session] | [Program listing] | [Next Session]
All findings are embargoed until the time of presentation at the meeting.

Session 11. Cataclysmic Variables, Novae

Display, Monday, June 4, 2001, 9:20am-6:30pm, Exhibit Hall

11.01 Structure and Evolution of Circumbinary Disks in Cataclysmic Variable Systems
R.E. Taam (Northwestern U.), G. Dubus (Caltech), H.C. Spruit (MPIfA)
11.02 FUSE Observation of U Geminorum in Quiescence
S. Sallmen (Space Sciences Lab, UC Berkeley), C. W. Mauche (LLNL), B. Y. Welsh, O. H. W. Siegmund (Space Sciences Lab, UC Berkeley)
11.03 Hubble Space Telescope STIS Observations of the Dwarf Nova VW Hydri during Superoutburst
C. S. Pilman, E. M. Sion (Villanova Un.), P. Szkody (Un. of Washington), B. Gansicke (Un. of Gottingen)
11.04 Hubble Space Telescope Spectroscopic Observations of the Dwarf Nova RX Andromeda During Outburst Rise and Decline*
J. F. Sepinsky, E. M. Sion (Villanova Un.)
11.05 XMM-Newton observations of the strongly magnetic cataclysmic variables DP Leo and WW Hor
D. Pandel, F. A. Cordova, R. E. Shirey (UC Santa Barbara), G. Ramsay, M. Cropper, K. O. Mason (MSSL), D. Kilkenny (SAAO)
11.06 V445 Puppis--An Unusual Nova?
J.E. Lyke, C.E. Woodward, R.D. Gehrz (U. Minnesota), R.M. Wagner (LBT Observatory, U. Arizona), S.G. Starrfield (Arizona State U.), G. Schwarz (Steward Observatory, U. Arizona), C.B. Foltz (MMT Observatory, U. Arizona)
11.07 On the Theoretical Orbital Period Distribution of Galactic Novae
L.A. Nelson, K. MacCannell, E. Dubeau (Bishop's)
11.08 Spectral Properties of the Flickering Optical Light in Symbiotic Recurrent Novae
J. L. Sokoloski (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics), M. Eracleous (Penn State), D. Steeghs (University of Southampton), L. Bildsten (Institute for Theoretical Physics, UCSB)
11.09 The Extraordinary CHANDRA Light Curve of V1494 Aql
S. Starrfield (ASU), J. Drake (CFA), R. M. Wagner (LBT), Y. Butt (CFA), P. H. Hauschildt (UGA), J. Krautter (LSW), R. D. Gehrz, C. E. Woodward (UMN), M. Della Valle (Arcetri), M. Orio (Torino), K. Mukai (GSFC), M. Hernanz (IEEC), J. W. Truran (Chicago), A. E. Evans (Keele)

[Previous Session] | [Program listing] | [Next Session]